Examination Commission

ABA 3-Step Exams

Step 1:    To be completed upon graduation from a 4-year BS in Architectural Studies pre-professional degree OR upon completion of the 4th year during the Bachelor of Architecture professional degree program.

Step 2:    To be completed upon graduation from a 5-year Bachelor of Architecture professional degree program OR upon completion of Step 1.

Step 3:    To be completed upon graduation from Master of Architecture OR upon completion of Step 2.

ABA Commissions

ABA is organized into two distinct Commissions each charged with the following specific tasks:

  • Commission A: Accreditation Commission

  • Commission X: Examination Commission

Updated Apr 14, 2017

Public Reformation of State Boards

  • Promote public reformation of state boards to ensure a transparent, non-conflicting, and qualified representation of the public for the people by the people. Currently boards are representing licensing exam vendor and its affiliated accreditation body. (Reference all 54 Boards, specifically Ohio and Vermont Board)

  • State board members should not serve as representatives of third party organizations collecting revenue from candidate failure.  

  • State Board members deciding on accreditation should hold a professional degree in architecture.  Some state boards do not hold any sort of college degree.  (Reference California Architect's Board)

  • Unbiased State boards will allow ABA to compete with NCARB-NAAB as permitted by US antitrust laws historically applicable specific to state boards.  Competition will end the reign of a monopoly by offering schools and candidates competing options.

  • Create a licensing path that leads to gainful employment to practice architecture in the U.S. for both national and foreign architects.

© Copyright 2018 American Board of Architecture. All rights reserved.